Class Racing Fleets


The I-14 Fleet runs their fleet races within the KYC Class boat schedule.


Thomas Pochereva

Fleet Captain

The fleet captain co-ordinates regattas, sends out race reminders and poles the fleet on upcoming issues. Additional support is provided with scoring and other items of importance and interest to the fleet. 

The I-14 Fleet supports KYC Fleet Operations providing support for events such as the Bulkhead Race, Lipton One Design Challenge Cup, Kalakaua Cup, and the State Keelboat Championship.  Fleet members attend clubs events such as Opening Day at the Sand Bar, Bulkhead races, Cy Gillette Day, Bullship and the Joe Cochran Reef Runner Memorial.
Check out the I-14’s.  This year we welcome the 29er Fleet to join us on Classboat race days.  If you are interested in joining the fleet  simply talk to any of our members on race day or contact the fleet captain.

Fleet Pictures:
20 Nov 2016 - States
7 Aug 2016
13 Sept 2015



Andrew Meade

Fleet Captain


KYC's Cal 20 fleet is the most established and largest one design fleet in Hawaii and is often thought to be the most competitive.  The fleet currently consists of 19 boats at this time with 12 to 13 Cal 20s actively racing.  All but two are dry moored on dolleys.  Skippers and crew range in age from "old timers" in their eighties to teens and preteens.  Members of the fleet include Olympians and national champions.

Most boats are sailed with two crew but it is common to see boats with three crew on board.  Most boats sail with mixed crew of females and males and the fleet has two regular female skippers.

If you want to race in a well established and exciting fleet, join the Cal 20 fleet.

Fleet Pictures:
2016 Lipton Cup
7 August 2016
13 Sept 2015
2015 States


Bob Stephenson

Fleet Captain

The KYC J-80 class fleet was founded in June 2015.  First fleet captain was Bob Stephenson, owner of Crusader.  Other members include Jeff Remily (Alohalani) and Peter Stokka (Papio).  Fleet membership was extended to Bruce Olsten (Boondoggle) which was the first J-80 in the state of Hawaii.  Invitations to participate in the IRF summer circuit, J-80 state championships and other J-80 races have been extended to Bruce and other Lahaina Yacht Club boats.

J80 Fleet Bylaws
J80 Fleet Scoring 2015
J80 Fleet Scoring 2016
J80 Fleet Scoring 2017